Historically Speaking

Making sense of it all!

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 3,392 other followers

  • IDIOMATION SERIES on Amazon!

    Available in digital eBook and paperback format.

    swirl

    BUY NOW BY CLICKING HERE!

    swirl

    BUY NOW BY CLICKING HERE!

    SIGN UP FOR OUR EMAIL NEWSLETTER


    ForEmail Marketing you can trust

  • September 2015
    S M T W T F S
    « Aug    
     12345
    6789101112
    13141516171819
    20212223242526
    27282930  

About Elyse

Elyse Bruce started Idiomation in January 2010 primarily for her son, as well as to help others better understand idioms.  Originally intended for those who have difficulties with figurative language, soon history buffs, newspaper hounds, educators and everyday folk began visiting because they, too, were interested not only in the idiom of the day but the history behind the idiom of the day.  But this success didn’t come as a surprise to Elyse.

Elyse Bruce is a woman of many talents — a versatile and respected award-winning professional musician, singer-songwriter, composer, illustrator, award-winning visual artist, playwright, and author of over 20 published books.

She balances her time writing music, songs, short stories, novels and plays, and painting and photographing the world around her. She also invests her time in learning new technologies, leading workshops and seminars, and teaching songwriting and marketing courses at the college and university levels.

Whether it’s writing psychological thrillers or humorous stories in the vein of Mark Twain and Stephen Leacock, children’s stories or resource books, cautionary tales for modern times or workbooks, Elyse makes her characters come alive for readers in memorable ways.

When she isn’t busy doing everything already mentioned, she makes time to create and promote new and exciting projects that engage, involve, and benefit as many people as possible.

Over the years, she also devoted her time and heart to raising a son with multiple serious  health conditions including autism, Myasthenia Gravis (a rare, incurable, life-threatening neuromuscular disease that strikes 2 in 1 million minors), a bilateral congenital kidney defect, and an assortment of less-serious-than-those-already-mentioned diagnosed health issues … and all that as a single parent!

In her spare time, Elyse bakes chocolate chip cookies which she then generously shares with friends and family. Her cookies are not available for purchase on Amazon or anywhere else online or in retail stores.

Fans are invited to visit Elyse Bruce on her website at http://www.elysebruce.com.

If you would like to know more about the author, please feel free to leave a message for Elyse Bruce on the CONTACT ELYSE tab and someone will respond to your comment/query in a timely fashion.

Thank you.

Elyse’s other blog sites are as follows:

Midnight In Chicago
Elyse Bruce
Missy Barrett’s Adventures

4 Responses to “About Elyse”

  1. Tom Crippen said

    Great site, thanks for doing it.

  2. Sharon Wezniak said

    Thanks for the great piece on “the buck stops here!” I had recently told the kids that their great, great grandfather, Brigadier General Augustus Bennett Warfield, coined that phrase, but I had no proof. THANK YOU!!!! It was great to google that!

    • You’re very welcome, and I’m glad that you found the “Idiomation: Historically Speaking” entry on the idiom. I’ll bet your kids were thrilled to bits to hear about this. :)

  3. Simon English said

    Thank you Elyse for that piece on ‘Snap Shot’. I was not only interested in it for the idiom but what you
    used for the examples.

    On this. the east side of the Atlantic, we have many accents and dialects among the inhabitants of the
    Islands. These can be traced back to the various ancient languages of the inhabitants and invaders. Some I
    find almost incomprehensible. Anyway in my youth when I went to work in a Stained Glass Studio in Birmingham
    the men would refer to their lunch break as a ‘Snap’ not ‘Snack’ which I assumed dated back to a time of a
    quick break in the factories and mines. We have the card game ‘snap’ which involves the quick matching of
    pairs of cards.

    However I was more interested , nay, grateful for your reference to Reginald Gilbert shooting in India.
    He was my Great Grandfather who had died before the First World War and whose widow must have moved to
    England and bought a house that she decorated with all his hunting trophies.

    As a boy in the 1950s I would visit my grandfather (Reginald’s son) where the heads of Sambhur buck and
    Buffalo glazed down at me . Time, worm and moth had not been kind to them and after he died my Uncle had a
    big tidy up to make the house inhabitable. Much went on a big bonfire. He had to be ruthless but I rescued a
    few bits. one of which was a big rusty machete in a cane scabbard. I was told that it had belonged to my
    great grandfather’s gun bearer. He (Gilbert) had been asked to shoot a bear that had fatally mauled a man in
    the village. When tracked to its lair it charged Gilbert, whose gun jammed, and the bearer killed the bear
    with his machete. Just as well or I may not be here today. The Machete was purchased as a memento of his
    life saved. It now hangs in my house much to my wife’s irritation.

    Many years later in my mother’s attic I found a tin full of glass slides. These were all the photographs
    of the big game hunts. all properly taken in high detail on a tripod, except for one. This is titled ‘Man
    Mauled by Bear’ He is in a bad way and the photo is a bit shaky and clearly hand held and un posed. So it
    really is a ‘snap shot’ photograph by a hunter who would take a ‘snap shot’ at a sambhur.

    S.English.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,392 other followers

%d bloggers like this: